Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(December 1996)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: FindMail.Com?
From: Kynn Bartlett <kynn @ idyllmtn . com>
Date: Thu, 12 Dec 1996 12:47:10 -0800
To: list-managers @ greatcircle . com

I received the following from one of my list owners:

>Is this a bit suspicious? Have you heard of these people? I
>feel I should quietly remove them...
>--me

>>Date: Tue, 3 Dec 1996 18:38:58 -0800
>>To: casio-keyboarders-approval
>>From: Majordomo
>>Subject: SUBSCRIBE casio-keyboarders
>>Reply-To: Majordomo

>>ListSaver-of-casio-keyboarders@vault.findmail.com has been added to
>casio-keyboarders.

www.findmail.com offers no information on these people, besides an
email address to mail.  Their primary DNS is provided by archive.org,
according to Whois.  www.archive.org speaks of archiving "the web",
Usenet, and other "public information" but doesn't mention mailing
lists.

Are these people archiving my list without my permission?  Anyone else
gotten requests from this site, or have subscribers now?


--
  /\      /\  /\      /\           Kynn Bartlett / kynn@idyllmtn.com
 /  \    /  \/  \    /  \               Idyll Mountain Internet 
 /  \   //\  /\  \   /  \            <URL:http://www.idyllmtn.com>
'_| _` //  \/  \__\ '_| _`    HTML Writers Guild Governing Board Member


Follow-Ups:
Indexed By Date Previous: OOPS!
From: "Mark E. Taylor" <themet@mindspring.com>
Next: Re: FindMail.Com?
From: David Shaw <dshaw@cs.jhu.edu>
Indexed By Thread Previous: OOPS!
From: "Mark E. Taylor" <themet@mindspring.com>
Next: Re: FindMail.Com?
From: David Shaw <dshaw@cs.jhu.edu>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com