Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(February 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: whowhere.com
From: "Alan S. Harrell" <ashandrr @ tgn . net>
Date: Tue, 04 Feb 1997 11:30:06 -0600
To: list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM

At 10:29 PM 2/3/97 -0500, Gess wrote:

>I have found an address in a couple of my lists with the address of 
>xxxlist@whowhere.com
>
>Does anyone know if whowhere.com is archiving lists? Or is 
>whowhere.com another email provider like juno?

 In viewing their Web site at: <http:www.whowhere.com/> they appear
 to be an e-mail address search service.  I have a hunch that
 what they are archiving from your lists, are your subscriber's
 e-mail addresses.  

 Use your imagination to what they are probably doing with their
 database of e-mail addresses.  I had a bad taste in my mouth
 viewing that site.  My gut reaction is that they are a commercial
 mailing list firm collecting e-mail addresses for the purposes
 of serving clients who want to send bulk e-mail unsolicited 
 commercial messages.  Their e-mail look-up service looks like a 
 front to me.

 Can we say "Spam" boys and girls?

Alan
ASHandRR@TGN.net


Indexed By Date Previous: Re: List-Managers-Digest V6 #28
From: Rae French <rfrench@teleport.com>
Next: Re: AOL mailbox limit, hig volume lists in general
From: "D. J. Bernstein" <djb@koobera.math.uic.edu>
Indexed By Thread Previous: whowhere.com
From: "Gess Shankar" <gess@earthchannel.com>
Next: Re: whowhere.com
From: Kynn Bartlett <kynn@idyllmtn.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com