Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(March 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Apparent Denial-Of Service Attack on AOL Member
From: kali <kali @ europa . com>
Date: Mon, 17 Mar 1997 11:53:43 -0800 (PST)
To: List-Managers @ GreatCircle . COM
In-reply-to: <v03007814af53410c2690@[131.218.204.98]>

ahhh, something similar happened to me. There was a guy that had Page
Email and someone subscribed his pager email address to over 100 mailing
lists. This wasn't the first time I had had an "atackeee" subscribed to my
list. Seems like it is becoming more and more frequent.....

-kali


On Mon, 17 Mar 1997, Vince Sabio wrote:

> Cross-posted to listmom-talk and list-managers.
> 
> The following message was posted to SPAM-L this morning. I thought that
> it would be of interest over here, as well. I contacted the sender and
> asked him to send me the list of attacked servers; I have posted it on my
> Web page in case you would like to know if yours was among the many.
> 
> <http://colossus.arl.mil/docs/aol_list_spam.txt>
> 
> Hit it quickly if you intend to hit it at all; I don't plan on leaving
> it up there for more than a couple of days, lest it become a source of
> list servers for future attacks. (Sure, there are plenty of places out
> there for people to get such lists, but I don't want MY server to become
> one of them.)
> 
> As such, if you redistribute this message to any non-listmom or
> potentially non-listmom parties, please remove the URL above. Thanks.
> 
> - Vince
> 
> --- begin forwarded text
> 
> 
> MIME-Version:  1.0
> Priority: normal
> Date:         Sun, 16 Mar 1997 17:45:27 -0600
> Reply-To:     Spam Prevention Discussion List <SPAM-L@PEACH.EASE.LSOFT.COM>
> Sender:       Spam Prevention Discussion List <SPAM-L@PEACH.EASE.LSOFT.COM>
> From:         J. Ford <address_deleted@SEEBECK.UA.EDU>
> Organization: Seebeck Computer Center
> Subject:      subscribe
> To:           SPAM-L@PEACH.EASE.LSOFT.COM
> 
> FYI.....apparently someone doesn't like an aol user.  Mail forwarded
> (with all headers) to abuse@aol.net and abuse@netcom.com
> 
> -- jf
> 
> 
> ------- Forwarded Message Follows -------
> 
> Received: from SpoolDir by SEEBECK (Mercury 1.30); 16 Mar 97 17:41:15 CST
> Return-path: <@UA1VM.UA.EDU:gillb8s@AOL.COM>
> Received: from UA1VM.UA.EDU by seebeck.ua.edu (Mercury 1.30);
>     16 Mar 97 17:41:11 CST
> Received: from UA1VM.UA.EDU by UA1VM.UA.EDU (IBM VM SMTP V2R3)
>    with BSMTP id 3616; Sun, 16 Mar 97 17:36:28 CST
> Received: from UA1VM.UA.EDU (NJE origin LISTSERV@UA1VM) by UA1VM.UA.EDU (LMail V1.2a/1.8a) with BSMTP id 6353; Sun, 16 Mar 1997 17:36:25 -0600
> Received: from UA1VM (NJE origin V2SMTP-N@UA1VM) by UA1VM.UA.EDU (LMail
>           V1.2a/1.8a) with BSMTP id 6340; Sun, 16 Mar 1997 17:36:16 -0600
> Received: from dfw-ix5.ix.netcom.com by UA1VM.UA.EDU (IBM VM SMTP V2R3)
>    with TCP; Sun, 16 Mar 97 17:36:11 CST
> Received: (from smap@localhost)
>           by dfw-ix5.ix.netcom.com (8.8.4/8.8.4)
>           id RAA11942; Sun, 16 Mar 1997 17:20:49 -0600 (CST)
> Received: from lin-ne3-07.ix.netcom.com(204.32.191.103) by dfw-ix5.ix.netcom.com
>  via smap (V1.3)
>         id sma009073; Sun Mar 16 17:19:18 1997
> X-Sender: gillb8s@aol.com (Unverified)
> Message-Id: <v01510100af522ca9bd53@[204.32.191.69]>
> Mime-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
> Date: Sun, 16 Mar 1997 17:15:42 -0600
> To: killies-request@mejac.palo-alto.ca.us, cdrom-l-request@uccvma.ucop.edu,
>         clear-l-request@vm.ucs.ualberta.ca, magic-l-request@american.edu,
>         cfids-l-request@american.edu, cfs-l-request@list.nih.gov,
> 
> (many, many lists deleted.)
> 
> From: gillb8s@aol.com (Bill)
> Subject: subscribe
> X-PMFLAGS: 36176000 0
> 
> subscribe * gillb8s@aol.com
> end
> 
> --- end forwarded text
> 
> 
> 
> - Vince S.
>   wavelet@colossus.arl.mil
>   <http://www.humournet.com/HumourNet/>
> --
> For info on HumourNet--the Internet's moderated mailing list for humor--
> send the command INFO HUMORNET (only one U) to listproc@csf.colorado.edu
> --
> <http://spam.abuse.net/spam/> Because The Only GOOD Spammer is a DEAD Spammer
> 
> 
> 



References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Apparent Denial-Of Service Attack on AOL Member
From: Vince Sabio <wavelet@colossus.arl.mil>
Next: Re: Apparent Denial-Of Service Attack on AOL Member
From: Grant Neufeld <gneufeld@ccs.carleton.ca>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Apparent Denial-Of Service Attack on AOL Member
From: Vince Sabio <wavelet@colossus.arl.mil>
Next: Re: Apparent Denial-Of Service Attack on AOL Member
From: Grant Neufeld <gneufeld@ccs.carleton.ca>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com