Great Circle Associates List-Managers
(March 1997)
 

Indexed By Date: [Previous] [Next] Indexed By Thread: [Previous] [Next]

Subject: Re: Possible spam?
From: Dave Voorhis <dave @ armchair . mb . ca>
Date: Fri, 21 Mar 1997 23:05:25 -0600
To: list-managers @ GreatCircle . COM
In-reply-to: <Pine.LNX.3.95.970321231048.20679A-100000@kparker.nai.net>
References: <B0000285459@ec3.earthchannel.com>

At 11:24 PM 3/21/97 -0500, you wrote:

>   I'm a bit puzzled, wondering if people ARE being subscribed
>against their will.  (And, being Listproc, they'd have to be
>zubscribed via E-Mail address spoofing, too...)
>
>    Anyone else?

While I've experienced occasional prank subscriptions during the two years
that I've been running lists, the attempts (as evidenced by subscribe
requests differing from 'Received:' headers) seem to have increased
dramatically over the past week or so.  Fortunately, just prior to that, I
upgraded to Majordomo 1.94.1 and invoked the 'confirm' option for new
subscriptions, which so far has prevented any serious trouble.  That is,
except for one instance where a hacker subscribed to several lists via a
hacked account, then forwarded the hacked account to an anonymous remailer
account, which was then forwarded to the victim.

I think anyone running a busy list without some form of subscription
confirmation is in for some serious unpleasantness, as the 'net seems to be
attracting more and more boneheads of late, and sending fakemail is just
too easy.

Finally, a question:  I've heard that there's a piece of hackerware
available which is designed to subscribe a victim to a large number of
lists.  Can anyone confirm this rumour?  I checked the "Denial of Service
Page" at http://www.student.tdb.uu.se/~t95hhu/c-war.html, but didn't see
anything specifically related to lists.

Dave Voorhis
mailto:dave@armchair.mb.ca
http://www.armchair.mb.ca/~dave




Follow-Ups:
References:
Indexed By Date Previous: Re: Possible spam?
From: Ken Parker <admin@kparker.nai.net>
Next: Re: Possible spam?
From: Chuq Von Rospach <chuqui@plaidworks.com>
Indexed By Thread Previous: Re: Possible spam?
From: Ken Parker <admin@kparker.nai.net>
Next: Re: Possible spam?
From: Chuq Von Rospach <chuqui@plaidworks.com>

Google
 
Search Internet Search www.greatcircle.com